Sharebuilder Purchase – 7/21/2015

Here are my sharebuilder automatic investments this week (7/21/2015).

  • BBL – 2.5615 shares@39.04 ($100)
  • CVX – 1.0640 shares@93.99 ($100)
  • WMT – 1.3696 shares@73.015 ($100)

I invested a total of $300. I added the same three stocks as last week as the prices for all three stocks stayed around the same range. WMT continues to be weak. BBL and CVX continues to take its toll due to low oil and commodity prices.

Stocks like AT&T, Disney and Visa have increased this week again after results and are at their highs. I am waiting for these stocks to drop before adding again, but it doesn’t look like it is going to happen anytime soon. Will have to wait more.

These purchases add $13.59 to my annual dividends. This results in 4.53% yield.

These purchases increase my total annual projected dividends to $2,893.87.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above

3 thoughts on “Sharebuilder Purchase – 7/21/2015

  1. Ciao DGJ,
    What’s your take on a stock like CVX? I have the same situation where basically it hit my “loss point” where by my rules I need to start considering adding more stocks to rebalance. But I am dubious this time, as the oil market looks pretty messed up right now, and despite what people say there might the chances that prices will not recover soon (year end).
    You are adding in, so that means that you see things differently…
    Ciao ciao

    Stal

    • Hi Stalflare,
      The oil stocks are in an odd situation. The oil market is very weak and looks like it will continue to be weak for several months. It has already been a year since the downtrend started. I originally thought it will be a 6-12 month downturn, but we are continuing to make new lows in the oil price.
      But I am not too worried (at least for now) since my investment horizon is long term. I am not concerned about the prices within the next year or so.
      But I am worried about the dividends at least in the short term. I think some of the oil companies are either going to cut or at least freeze the dividends until the market recovers. CVX is already 2 quarters beyond their usual annual increase timeframe. Other stocks like COP etc are under lot of pressure to continue paying out dividends with limited cash flow. So that is still an unknown. But I am hoping that this is just a 1-2 year window and the oil prices will begin to recover slowly or at least the companies will cut costs to adjust.
      Thanks for dropping by.
      Cheers,
      DGJ

  2. Ciao DGJ,

    I have a similar perspective when it comes to Energy stocks, my only fear is about dividends. CVX did not raise dividends, maybe they were expecting a tough time and anticipated the market in doing so, or maybe they had already issues that forced them to do so (despite the fact that it doesn’t show in the accounts that I have reviewed, until last Q the company seemed pretty solid). I have averaged CVX yesterday, and will probably do it again in a month or so, but yes I am expecting difficulties as well…

    Ciao ciao

    Stal

Leave a comment