January 2014 Purchase – GE

I have been a big fan of GE ever since I started investing in 2009. One of my very first purchases was GE and I still hold onto those shares. GE is also on my highest value stock in my portfolio even before this purchase. But when the price dropped from the high of about $28.00 at the beginning of this year to about $25.00, I could not resist.

I purchased 100 shares of GE at $25.00 on 1/27/2014. GE currently pays a dividend of $0.22/share which amounts to an yield of 3.52%. This purchase adds $88.00 to my annual dividend going forward.

I believe GE is a solid dividend paying blue-chip company that has lots of growth ahead. GE doesn’t figure in various dividend lists since GE cut its dividend during the financial crisis. But since then, they have been growing dividends and I hope they continue to do so.

Leave a Reply

