January 2014 Purchase – SCHD

I have couple of ETFs (VWO and VPU), but they don’t represent a huge percentage of my portfolio. I was looking to invest in another ETF (again, not a big amount) just to diversify a bit. I came across Schwab U.S. Dividend Equity ETF (SCHD) which almost mirrored by investment focus. This ETF is a dividend focused ETF with the top 10 holdings representing a majority of stocks that I wanted to enter. Some of them included:

  • AT&T
  • Chevron
  • Microsoft
  • Exxon Mobil
  • Coca Cola
  • Johnson and Johnson
  • Pfizer

The expense ratio was also quite reasonable at 0.07% and the dividend yield was around 2.5%. So I purchased 75 shares at $35.20 on 1/27/2014. With a dividend of $0.25/share, this purchase adds $75.00 to my annual dividends.

Leave a Reply

