Dividend summary for July 2014

There is nothing more satisfying than looking at the dividend income received for the month and realizing that you are taking small (but important) steps towards your goals. The first month of the quarter is the highest one for me.

July 2014 has been another wonderful month. I had received $174.02 in April and I was hoping to top that. And I managed to do, but just barely. Overall, I received $187.47 in dividends which is the highest ever yet for a single month. I hope to hit $200.00 mark soon. $187.47 represents an increase of 41.51% compared to July last year.

Here are the dividends for July 2014.

Stock Dividend Difference from Last year % diff from last year
AET $2.25 $0.25 12.50%
GE $82.50 $30.25 57.89%
HPQ $32.80 $3.03 10.18%
MO $36.00 $3.00 9.09%
PM $23.50 New investment compared to last year
ARCP $10.42 New investment compared to last year
Total $187.47 $54.99 41.51%

AET, HPQ and MO increases are due to dividend increases. GE increase is due to dividend increase as well as additional positions. Dividend growth is a main factor that adds to the compounding effect.

Overall, the dividends has increased from:

  • July 2013: $132.48, increased by $54.99, 41.51increase.
  • April 2014: $174.02, increased by $13.45, 7.72% increase.

Here are some charts looking at dividend growth over the years 🙂

The below chart shows July dividends over the years. My first ever dividend was in July 2009 and it was $3.00. It is nice to see the growth from a meager $3.00 to $187.47 in 5 years time. This is in spite of not investing much between 2011-2013. I would like this to go higher each year.

2014-july-dividends-1

This below chart shows the dividends that I have received until July each year. I received $3.00 in dividends until July of 2009 since like I said, it was the first month of dividends for me. By July last year, I had received $520.54 and it has grown to $827.76 this year.

2014-july-dividends-2

The below chart represents the total annual dividends. Total 2014 dividends of $827.76 received so far is higher than dividends received in all of 2013. It is great to surpass last year’s total with 5 months to spare. Of course, we need to keep aiming higher and not stagnate.

2014-july-dividends-3

Progress for 2014:

With July dividends, my total for the year stands at $827.76 which represents 55.18% of my 2014 target of $1,500.00. I had an initial goal of $1,200 at the beginning of the year, but increased it to $1,500 early July since it looked like I was going to hit the target with months to spare. I am just about on pace to hit the $1,500 target and the recent new investments should help me get there.

The dividends page will be updated to reflect the July dividends.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

10 thoughts on “Dividend summary for July 2014

  1. DGJ,

    Awesome job! And great news that you surpassed all of your dividend income from 2013 already. You’ve got five months left to absolutely crush that mark. 🙂

    That’s a great YOY increase in dividend income. Keep it up!

    Best wishes.

  2. DGJ,

    I think both you and My Dividend Growth are “sandbaggers” 🙂 Good job reaching you goal five months early and now make sure you don’t coast for the rest of the year. I think $1750 is within your reach, but you might have to stretch just a bit further outside your comfort zone.

    Keep up the great job!

    MDP

    • Come on… I didn’t reach my goal 5 months early. I just surpassed last year’s total. My goal for the year is 1500 and I just increased it last month from 1200. A reason for surpassing last year’s total this early is because of low starting base as well as substantial investments during the beginning of this year. Even if I make huge investments, 1750 for the year will be really difficult since most new purchases will give just 1 dividend for the rest of the year.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

      DGJ

  3. Hi DGJ,

    Congrats on a great month – it must be very rewarding to watch your dividend income grow like that!
    I know you mentioned that the first month is typically your highest one but do you have a lot of variation between each month in a given quarter? When I first started dividend investing this was a concern for me and I tried to even it out, but I soon stopped that!

    Looking forward to viewing your improvements for August,
    Best wishes!
    -DL

    • Yes. It is very satisfying to see the income grow up each month/quarter/year. Right now, there is lot of variation between the months. In the last quarter, the lowest month was $91.72 and highest was $174.02. Very high in terms of percentage, but not much in terms of dollars. I don’t try and even the months out. I believe over a period of time after you are invested in lot of stocks, this will even it out.

      Thanks for stopping by.

      DGJ

Leave a Reply

