Portfolio update for August 2014

At the end of August 2014, my portfolio stood at $70,614.62 across all my accounts combined. Comparing to my portfolio balance of $65,135.23 at the end of July, this represents an increase of $5,479.39 for the month of August which represents a 8.41% increase for the month.

Of the increase, new investments (CLX, GSK) accounted for $2,796.50, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of $2,682.89 or 4.12% for the month.

I had 5 stocks mentioned in my August watch list, but managed to purchase just 2 stocks. KO, PEP and V have gone up lately and I will be looking for some dips to initiate positions in those stocks.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009. As always, it is satisfying to see the graphs going higher each month/year. It reinforces the fact that I am making progress towards my goals.

2014-august-portfolio-growth

 

Disclosure: Long CLX, GSK. I have no positions in KO, PEP and V, but plan to initiate position soon.

14 thoughts on “Portfolio update for August 2014

  1. DGJ,

    Congrats on a very solid month. Your ever increasing portfolio is becoming most impressive! 4% in the month on gains alone is showing some serious power. I’m excited to see my portfolio get to that point where it moves by thousands at a time for better or worse in a month. You’ve done tremendous work!

    Best Wishes,
    Ryan

  2. DGJ,

    Looks like you had an excellent August. It’s only too bad the big run in our portfolios came at the expense of limiting future opportunities. But such is life. We take the good with the bad, and you can clearly see that chart is part of the “good”. 🙂

    Keep up the great work!

    Best regards.

    • Thanks Agent.

      Checked out your blog. Congrats on beginning your dividend investing journey. Your portfolio might be small now, but you have already achieved your first target – to start investing. Pretty soon, you can realize the fruits of dividend investing and compounding and can see the portfolio growing over a period of time.

      Thanks for stopping by and welcome.

      DGJ

  3. DGJ,

    Great month. Congrats on crossing the $70k mark. You are well on your way to doubling your portfolio in 2014. What a feat that would be. Keep up the great work! I always have my eye on CLX, so I am pumped that you aded it to your portfolio.

    Bert, One of the Dividend Diplomats

  4. Thanks for sharing your recent dividend income update. CLX has been a long time holding of mine and though the last dividend increase was little disappointing I still feel CLX can deliver long term dividend value for a long , long time. Look forward to your next dividend update.

Leave a Reply

