Recent Sharebuilder Purchase

Early this week I posted about my new trading account that I opened at Sharebuilder and also the advantage plan that I signed up for. I also mentioned about my plan to use this account to invest in stocks that I don’t have any position yet and slowly build them over them over a period of time. Also, as mentioned my plan is to invest at least $1,000 a month to start and then increase it slowly. So based on that approach, I had my first set of automatic investments executed this week.

  • AFL – 1.6515 shares @60.54
  • KO – 2.3881 shares @41.875
  • V – 0.4653 shares @214.9098

I invested a total of $300 ($100 in each stock). It is not much, but definitely a start. I have been looking to invest in these companies for a while now and I also had KO and V in my August watch list. But did not get a chance to invest ~$1,500 in each of them. With the Sharebuilder automatic investment approach, I can build the positions slowly and steadily.

These purchases add $6.14 to my annual dividends. This results in 2.05% yield. The yield is not great, but stocks like V has a lot of growth potential and that is what I am looking for. Over the next course of several weeks/months, I plan to build positions in the above stocks.

Disclosure: Long on KO, V, AFL

8 thoughts on “Recent Sharebuilder Purchase

    • Henry,
      Please see my earlier post about the new trading account that I opened at Sharebuilder that has the rate information for this kind of plan. One of the main reasons I opened this plan is to enable me to invest small amounts on a regular basis. I just want to try this out for a while and see how this plays out.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  1. Some quality companies. I plan on racking up a nice size position of KO in my Loyal3 account. I may try to open a sharebuilder account though to open up my options for some small amount investing. My current broker charges 8.99 per trade so it’s not cost beneficial to invest in anything less than 1k.

    • Tanks Special Agent. I had (and still have) account with Scottrade and with their $7.00 charges per trade, I always invest close to 1500/trade to justify the costs. That’s why the sharebuilder advantage plan was attractive. Allows me to invest small amounts on a regular basis with reasonable costs. Lets see how it goes.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hi DGJ,

    Just discovered your website. Nice another sharebuilder dividend growth investor!
    I did not know about the special pricing for Costco members. I will try to see if I can get it now…
    Also do you have access to the Advantage plan still (12 automatic trades for $10/month). I was told it’s discontinued?

    Thanks.
    Fab

    • The Advantage plan is not showing up in the site, but I was told that you could call Sharebuilder and sign up. But the Advantage plan is still available for Costco members through the website.

      You have a great portfolio with over $2300 in projected annual dividends. Congrats.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

