Revised Goals – 2014 – Part 2

Back in July, I had revised my 2014 goals to the following.

  • Invest at least $25,000
  • Receive at least $1,500 in dividends
  • Achieve at least $2,000 in projected annual dividends

But as I have reported in the August goals update, I am very close to achieving these goals with 4 months remaining in the year. I have invested close to $5,000 in July and August and also invested in BP earlier this month. I have also opened my sharebuilder account through which I plan to invest at least $1,000 each month. Right now, I am just about $1,000 shy of meeting the $25K goal for the year.

I also noticed that the projected annual dividends topped $2,000 when I calculated it over the weekend. This was primarily due to recent dividend increases as well as September investments.

So in order to make sure that I am focused and also to keep the journey going on, I am revising the goals as follows:

  • Invest at least $30,000 – Increase of $5,000
  • Receive at least $1,500 in dividends – I am not changing this since most of the new investments may not provide a dividend for this year.
  • Achieve at least $2,200 in projected annual dividends – Increase of $200

The goals page has been updated to reflect the updated goals.

6 thoughts on “Revised Goals – 2014 – Part 2

  1. Nothing wrong with continuing to push your goals higher and higher. I think you shouldn’t have any issue hitting your marks given your current rate of investing as well as the expected forward dividend growth from the fresh capital. You are really setting yourself up for an outstanding 2015 given your significant capital investment this year.

    • Thanks Henry. 30K was possible because I was sitting on lot of cash. I did not invest much between 2011-2013 and hence was sitting on lot of cash. Earlier this year, I decided that it was not worth waiting and decided to be aggressive in the investments.

      Hopefully I can manage similar investment amounts in the upcoming years.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

