Sharebuilder Purchase – 9/23/2014

Like I have mentioned before, one of main reason I opened a Sharebuilder account is to make sure I invest regularly. It is great to build the portfolio slowly and steadily. $300-$400 a week over a period of time definitely adds up. Here are my sharebuilder automatic investments this week (9/23/2014).

  • AFL – 1.7116 shares @58.425
  • KO – 2.3761 shares @42.085
  • V – 0.4692 shares @213.11

AFL continues to drift downwards over the last three weeks since I initiated the position and I have been adding to it each week. I added more to V after it went lower than my average price. I will rethink about KO next week if it continues to go higher.

I invested a total of $300 ($100 in each stock). It is not a lot, but better than nothing. These purchases add $6.23 to my annual dividends. This results in 2.08% yield. Over the course of next several weeks/months, I plan to build positions in the above stocks.

Disclosure: Long on KO, AFL, V

12 thoughts on “Sharebuilder Purchase – 9/23/2014

    • Thanks Ryan. Your AFL position is really huge. It will be while before I reach that level (if at all). Right now, I plan to build positions until they reach about ~1500 for each one.
      And planning to do the same with KO, PEP and V as well. And of course there are more stocks in the pipeline like WMT, WFC, BRK.B and so on 🙂

  1. Hey DGJ,
    These are all solid buys. I also have V and AFL on my watch list but I am slowly building my position in KO. I agree KO is a little expensive but that wont matter in 20 years. The earlier we buy, the more dividends we will see. Thanks and keep it up.

    • Thanks Mongrel. I just started building positions in all these stocks (V, AFL, KO and PEP) this month. So far the positions are negligible, but hoping to build them to a sizable one in a few months. If KO continues to go up, I might stop KO and move onto another one until KO comes back a bit.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Good choices. I’m long KO, and have had my eye on AFL and V for a bit. AFL seems seriously undervalued at this point, and will probably be so for a bit, so I keep pushing it off for ‘better’ values. I just need to shut up and buy it already!

    • Thanks DD. AFL has been undervalued for a while now and keeps drifting lower. I will continue to add to my position as it keeps going lower. That’s the advantage of DCA. KO is a great stock, but is getting expensive at over 42. If it continues to go higher, I might stop buying for a while and see how it goes while I add position in some other stock.

      Thanks for stopping by and welcome to the blogging world.

Leave a Reply

