Portfolio update for September 2014

At the end of September 2014, my portfolio stood at $71,536.11 across all my accounts combined. Comparing to my portfolio balance of $70,614.62 at the end of August, this represents an increase of $921.49 for the month of September which represents a 1.30% increase for the month.

Of the increase, new investments accounted for $2,701.90, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of -$1,780.41 or -2.52% for the month. The market was choppy in September thus leading to a net negative increase.

I purchased BP at the beginning of the month. I then opened a sharebuilder account with the advantage plan enabling me to invest regularly in small amounts. Since opening the sharebuilder account, I have invested $1,200 in AFL, KO, V and PEP.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009. As always, it is satisfying to see the graphs going higher each month/year. It reinforces the fact that I am making progress towards my goals.

2014-september-portfolio-growth

 

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

10 thoughts on “Portfolio update for September 2014

  1. DGJ,

    That’s great progress over the last few years. Slow and steady is the name of the game! 🙂

    Looks like some solid purchases there. You’re putting some serious capital to work, which bodes well for your future!

    Keep it up.

    Best wishes!

  2. Thanks for sharing your recent update with us. AFL, KO and PEP are all long term holdings in my portfolio. Nice graph too showing your account totals. Look forward to reading about your dividend income update.

Leave a Reply

