Sharebuilder Purchase – 12/9/2014

Here are my sharebuilder automatic investments this week (12/9/2014).

  • BBL – 6.7348 shares@44.545

I invested my usual $300 weekly amount in just 1 stock this time. Couple of reasons:

  • BBL has declined close to 7% since I initiated the position last week. Thought I could use the drop to add more shares.
  • There are 5 Tuesdays this month – which means 5 trading days for automatic trades in sharebuilder. My advantage plan gives me 12 trades for the month. Since there are 5 trading days, I have to spread the 12 trades without going over.

These purchases add $16.70 to my annual dividends. This results in 5.56% yield. I will continue to review the prices to decide on the trades for next week. But most likely will stay between BBL, JNJ and KO since KO has dropped a bit in the last few days.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above

2 thoughts on “Sharebuilder Purchase – 12/9/2014

  1. Thanks for sharing your recent purchase. I’m surprised that many DGI bloggers are still adding to their BBL or energy names. It is still a falling knife category for the foreseeable future. Better off waiting on the sidelines or buying other names instead. I wonder about all the purchases made in the last couple of weeks alone in names like BBL, NOV, COP, BP, TOT, CVX, XOM and many others. I think these are great long term plays but buying on the way down is tough.

    • Yes. These stocks are going down like a knife. It may not make sense to keep adding on their way down. But i think it should not be an issue while investing for long term. There is risk involved but ib feel it should be okay for long term. I will be limiting my investments in the sector going forward since my weight in the sector considerably in the last couple of months. But i will continue to invest in small amounts as the prices email attractive.
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

Leave a Reply

