Portfolio update for December 2014

At the end of December 2014, my portfolio stood at $83,754.61 across all my accounts combined. Comparing to my portfolio balance of $80,969.64 at the end of November, this represents an increase of $2,784.97 for the month of December which represents a 3.44% increase for the month. 

Of the increase, new investments accounted for $4,016.4, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of -$1,231.43 or -1.52% for the month.

I purchased COP at the beginning of the December again after adding it in November as well. I also continued my weekly sharebuilder purchases through which I invested $1,500 in AFL, BBL, JNJ, PEP and KO. I also initiated position in BBL though my weekly purchases and have added to it each week in December. I also made additional purchases through my Scottrade FRIP program. I added PG, PM and BP through these commission free purchases.

The oil price continues to be weak and this is causing lot of oil stocks to be under pressure. That is one of the main drivers behind negative portfolio growth this month.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009. As always, it is satisfying to see the graphs going higher each month/year. It reinforces the fact that I am making progress towards my goals.

 

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

6 thoughts on “Portfolio update for December 2014

  1. As always, loving that chart. Always looking up to the right. Keep at it. Sure you had a great 2014. Wishing you the best for 2015 and beyond

    R2R

  2. DGJ,

    Nice job continually adding to your positions with sharebuilder. You probably were able to average down on your cost quite a bit, is my guess. Also – don’t worry to much about the market value — all about that dividend income and dividend growth! Excited for the impact of your purchases in 2014 on the year 2015, it should be awesome. Talk soon DGJ!

    -Lanny

    • Thanks Lanny. Yes. I was able to average down on some of the positions over the last few months and have been choosing which one to buy based on that. So the weekly purchases definitely helps.
      Looking forward to 2015 and all the very best to you too.

Leave a Reply

