Sharebuilder Purchase – 1/20/2015

Here are my sharebuilder automatic investments this week (1/20/2015).

  • AFL – 1.7304 shares@57.79 ($100)
  • BBL – 2.3646 shares@42.29 ($100)
  • JNJ – 0.9914 shares@100.87 ($100)

I invested a total of $300. I continued adding the same three shares as last week since the prices are at or below my average price. JNJ dropped close to the $100 levels after being around $106 couple of weeks ago. These purchases add $11.34 to my annual dividends. This results in 3.78% yield.

General Update: These stocks (along with the rest of the market) have gone up the last couple of days. Need to wait and decide on the stocks for next week. But these weekly purchases have really started adding up. In a matter of few months, AFL and BBL have crossed the $1,000 mark for total investments and I have invested a total of $6,000 across 8 stocks so far through the Sharebuilder weekly purchases. It is not a huge amount compared to some of the other investments, but it is good to keep investing like this on the side while researching other stocks for great value to invest a reasonable amount.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above

10 thoughts on “Sharebuilder Purchase – 1/20/2015

  1. Hi! I have a quick question regarding automatic reinvestment with sharebuilder. Are you paying $3.95 per transaction? So in this case you paid $3.95 x 3 = $11.85?

    BTW, great purchases. I have my eye on AFL but I just don’t have the funds to add right now. I did add more JNJ to my 401k (I work for JNJ). BBL is great value, can’t argue with that purchase!

  2. DGJ,

    Great looking buys! Getting JNJ at $100 is very difficult. I stayed away from energy this week, but will probably pick up some BBL next Tuesday. Great job diversifying across eight companies. That is what I really love about Sharebuilder.

    MDP

  3. Like the AFL and JNJ purchases. I had JNJ on my January watch list but decided to go with TD and EMR. I know we are all looking for better prices in many other dividend names besides energy and sometimes it’s hard to come by. Going forward I really would love to add to my health stocks, JNJ, BDX, BCR, ABT, ABBV and more but not at current valuations for many. Thanks for sharing your recent buys with us.

    • Yeah… JNJ is expensive at these levels, but like you mentioned it is very difficult to find value in this market other than the energy sector. ABT and ABBV are couple other names that I am looking at to initiate positions in.
      Thanks for stopping by.

    • Thanks. I am debating between JPM and WFC to initiate position in since I don’t have much exposure to the financial sector. Will probably pick one soon and slowly build the position as part of the weekly purchases.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  4. I opened my Costco Sharebuilder account .

    Thanks!

    Automatic Trades are now only 2 bucks for me! That means 400 bucks will get me a .5% expense ratio!!!

Leave a Reply

