Goals for 2015

Been trying to write this post for a while now and kept pushing it out. With January almost coming to a close, I don’t think I can push this even more. Anyway, these were my goals from 2014 and the final numbers from in December goals update.

Goals for 2014

  • Invest at least $30,000
    • Invested $33,542.75 in 2014.
  • Receive at least $1,500 in dividends
    • Received $1,594.02
  • Achieve at least $2,200 in projected annual dividends
    • Projected annual dividends for 2015 was at 2,235.39.
  • Have a portfolio of at least 25 stocks/ETFs
    • Ended up with more stocks that I planned
  • Maintain this blog and keep it updated regularly
    • Continued to maintain this blog.

Based on the 2014 results and projecting what I can do for this year, these are my goals for 2015.

Goals for 2015

  • Invest at least $35,000
    • This represents an increase of $5,000 over 2014 goal and an increase of only about $1,500 compared to my 2014 numbers. But here is how I arrived at the numbers.
    • I plan to continue my weekly Sharebuilder purchases of at least $300. So this amounts to about $15,000.
    • I will be adding about $7,000 towards my 2014 IRA contributions. Typically I contribute to my IRA after during tax time to determine whether it is worth or do a Roth.
    • I plan to invest about $10,000 in my other taxable account.
    • So adding these all together gave about $32,000. So I added about 10% extra to come up with $35,000 as my goal.
  • Receive at least $2,500 in dividends
    • My projected annual dividends at the end of 2014 stood at $2,235.39. So looking to receive at least $2,500 in dividends this year. This means that I have to receive close to $265 in additional dividends coming from 2015 investments and/or dividend increases.
  • Achieve at least $3,200 in projected annual dividends
    • $35,000 in new investments at an average yield of 2.5% gives about $875 in new dividends. Coupled that with 2015 projected dividends and future dividend increases, I ended up with $3,200 in future projected annual dividends by the end of 2015.
  • DO NOT have a portfolio of more than 45 stocks/ETFs
    • I currently hold 34 stocks and 4 ETFs. Yeah.. I know. Some of those ETFs are made up of several (possibly hundreds) of stocks themselves. But just from a tracking perspective, let’s assume that I hold 38 tickers. I want to initiate new positions in several stocks, but want to restrict myself bit. Hence this goal. I do NOT want to have more than 45 tickers at the end of the 2015.
    • I am also thinking of selling some of the holdings (like ARCP, C for example). So these will open up some additional “slots” if needed.
  • Maintain this blog and keep it updated regularly
    • I want to have this goal for obvious reasons 🙂

The goals page will be updated soon to reflect the 2015 goals.

8 thoughts on “Goals for 2015

  1. It’s amazing how we can accomplish the things we’re able to visualize. I went through a holistic goal setting process and finance was definitely a part of that for me this year. I shared about it on my blog: Great take-aways here… like the morals piece! I created this goal setting tool kit to help me say on my goals this year: http://laurarobichaux.com/how-to-set-smart-simple-goals/ I like how specific but simple your goals are outlined.

  2. Great goals, but you are WAY selling yourself short on the dividends received goal. You’ll hit $2,500 almost by default, just from dividend increases and reinvestments of those dividends. I would imagine you’d end up finishing the year around $2,700-2,800 at least, and some of the depends on how front loaded your capital additions end up being.

    • Thanks W2R. That’s probably true. Last year, I was really aggressive during the first 4-5 months of the year. I would really like to do the same, but not sure if I can find great value in these conditions. If I do, that’s really great.
      I plan to revisit the goals mid-year to see what I stand and if needed will revise the goals. I did that twice last year and it worked out really good.

      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts.

  3. Congrats on making your 2014 goals. Your new goals for this year look extremely doable based upon last year’s performance. Over $2.5K in passive income will be awesome.

    I’m still working on paying off debt, so it will be quite a while before I can build up my dividend fund again. Thanks for giving me something to look forward to.

    Robert

  4. DGJ,

    Looks like some solid goals up there. The goal of investing $35k this year is especially impressive and admirable. That’s really going to propel your future results.

    It looks like you should easily crush your dividend goal. I bet you end up with $3k+ this year, depending on how much capital you deploy early on.

    Keep it up!

    Best regards.

    • Thanks DM. The reason I am being a little conservative with the dividend goal is because I am not sure how much new purchases I can make early in the year. With most stocks at all time highs (but for oil stocks), I am not sure how much I can buy. If things work out, I will revise the goals at mid-year like I did (twice) last year.

      Thanks for stopping by.

  5. DWJ,

    Congrats on achieving all of your 2014 goals! Haven’t seen many people do that.

    Your 2015 goals seem to be a continuation of last year’s resolutions, so I’m sure you’ll be able to crack most of them again. Investing $35,000 every year will really add to your future income and grow your passive stream rather quickly. I’m pretty sure you’ll absolutely crush your dividend goal for this year!

    Keep it up,
    NMW

Leave a Reply

