Portfolio update – February 2015

February has gone by quite quickly especially being a short month. At the end of February 2015, my portfolio stood at $$88,201.15 across all my accounts combined. Comparing to my portfolio balance of $83,414.16 at the end of January 2015, this represents an increase of $4,786.99 for the month of February which represents a 5.73% increase for the month.

Of the increase, new investments accounted for $1,200, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of $3,586.99 or 4.30% for the month. The market increased by 5.48% (S&P 500) in Feb.

I have been making weekly sharebuilder purchases in February and adding to my positions in JNJ and KO primarily this month. Both JNJ and KO was lower this month compared to my average price and that enabled to me to add more as well as lower my average price. Also, I initiated a position in AT&T (T) this month and have been adding to that stock as well as part of my weekly purchases. I plan to continue adding T until I build a reasonable position (subject to price).

The portfolio increased in February following two months of net decline. The oil prices rebounded in February, but the oil related stocks are still under pressure. I had written about making at least 1 big purchase in Feb, but didn’t do any. I hope to do it in March.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009. As always, it is satisfying to see the graphs going higher each month/year. It reinforces the fact that I am making progress towards my goals.

 

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

16 thoughts on “Portfolio update – February 2015

  1. You are certainly making progress! While the values aren’t as important, psychologically, it is great to cross that six-figure mark, and you’ll likely do that here in a few months. Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks W2R. Definitely looking forward to hit the six figure mark sometime soon. And yes, you are right. The portfolio value isn’t that important, but it definitely has some impact – psychologically as well as in the outcome of the dividends – especially bcos dividends are not going to grow if the stock price tends to remain the same over a long period of time.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. DGJ,

    Congrats on a great portfolio performance last month. More importantly congrats on putting $1,200 to work. Keep up the great work and you will be in six figures soon enough, which will be a huge psychological boost as you continue on your journey.

    FD

    • Thanks FD. Yup… reaching $100K will be a huge psychological boost. Congrats to you as well to get started on the dividend investing journey. Looking forward to reading your progress as well.
      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

