Dividend summary – February 2015

I started focusing on dividend investing early last year and therefore, this is going to be first full year where I can see the benefits of investments from last year. Starting this blog and documenting my progress has been really a great factor to keep me focused on investing regularly and aggressively. So let’s take a look at the dividends received in February 2015.

After a wonderful and smashing start to dividends in January, February 2015 turned out to be a slow month for me in terms of dividends. I just received $100.42 in Feb which is far less than over $230 received in Jan. Of course, the 1st month of the quarter is always my best one and the middle month is my slowest month. Towards the middle of the month, I wasn’t sure if I will even break the $100 mark. In 3rd quarter of 2014, I crossed the three figure mark for all months of the quarter and I sure didn’t want to break the streak and go back to two figures – especially when I am marching towards hitting the $200 mark in all months of the quarter. 

Here are the dividends for February 2015.

  • Apple (AAPL) – $32.90
  • Citibank (C) – $0.15
  • General Mills (GIS) – $4.10
  • Procter & Gamble (PG) – $12.87
  • Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc (CBRL) – $15.00
  • Clorox (CLX) – $11.10
  • Kinder Morgan Inc (KMI) – $24.30 (first dividend)

Here is how February 2015 compares with previous months.

  • February 2014: $43.47, increased by $56.95, 131.00increase.
  • November 2014: $118.32, decreased by $17.90, 15.12% decrease.

As seen above, the dividends in February dropped compared to my November 2014 dividends primarily because of two reasons:

  • ARCP eliminated its dividend starting this year and that dropped my dividends by about $10.00 compared to November 2014
  • Also, the switch from KMP to KMI reduced the dividends from $35.00 to $24.30

I am sure May 2015 will be much better than this with new investments as well as potential dividend increases.

Here are some charts looking at dividend growth over the years 🙂

The below chart shows February dividends over the years. Looking forward to seeing this chart go higher and higher.

The below chart shows the dividends that I have received until February each year. By February last year, I had received $171.99 and it has grown to $336.27 this year.

The below chart represents the total annual dividends. Looking at the numbers below, I have received little over 21% of my entire 2014 dividends in just 2 months in 2015. That’s really impressive.

Progress for 2015:

With February dividends of $100.42, I have received 13.45% of my 2015 target of $2,500.00. I still need to keep adding capital early to take advantage of the dividends during the remaining quarters to meet the goal for this year.

The dividends page will be updated to reflect the February dividends.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

14 thoughts on “Dividend summary – February 2015

  1. Way to go, DGJ! Congrats on the dividend income…its great to see those charts and compare how you are doing now vs. before. Too bad your ARCP investment didnt work out – chalk that up as a learning experience.

    Best wishes to achieving your goals thru the year. Do you think you will be able to get to your goal this year? Is the 3rd month of quarter a much bigger payout?
    R2R

    • Thanks R2R. Yeah.. ARCP didn’t work out as expected. Let’s see how that plays out.
      I am behind on the goal as of now, but hoping I can catch up with the new investments. My 3rd month is a better one compared to my 2nd month, though it is not as big as my 1st month of the quarter.
      Thanks for stopping by.

  2. Hey man, just found your blog via a comment you left on someone else’s dividend blog somwhere. Looks like you’re doing pretty well. We all want to see those charts keep going up and to the right over time. So you’re on track! AWESOME! Keep going, keep researching those DGI stocks, picking great value, solid companies, and adding fresh capital as and when you can. I always think little and often is better than large and irregular.

    Cheers

    • Thanks M. Looked up your portfolio and though I don’t know much of those stocks, I am looking forward to learning more about the stocks across the ocean.
      Like you mentioned, regular investing definitely helps which I have been doing lately with weekly purchases. I also make some big purchases as well once in a while.
      Thanks for your thoughts.

      • No problem. I’m actually pretty bad in that I haven’t updated the portfolio page in absolutely ages! This is a good reminder to do it SOON. Hopefully you’ll pick up some more knowledge on UK stocks, and not just the ones that have ADRs listed in New York.

        Cheers

  3. Good job even with the disappointments. Only a year and you’re already doing a great job! Congrats! As a co holder, glad to see AAPL coming in! 😉

  4. Hi DGJ,

    It’s great that you still managed a three-figure result in February despite the slightly decreased income. Comparing to the previous year’s result is always motivating, especially when it’s a 131% improvement!
    We have PG, GIS and CLX in common and I have CBRL and KMI on my watchlist. The 13% progress to your yearly target is nice too – I’m at about 9% but March should give it a nice boost.

    Keep up the great work!
    Best wishes,
    -DL

    • Thanks DL.
      Yes. Comparing to the previous year is a nice feeling, but I also compare to the previous quarter since that shows improvements due to recent efforts (like new investments, dividend raises etc). Increases compared to previous quarter are even more wonderful since that shows I am working towards my goals regularly.
      13% progress is a bit low and I am hoping additional investments will help me to catch up. My March isn’t going to be as good as Jan, but will be better than Feb.
      Thanks for stopping by.
      DGJ

Leave a Reply

