Goals update – February 2015

I like to review the progress at least once a month to determine where I am with respect to meeting/achieving my goals.

These are the goals for 2015:

  • Invest at least $35,000
    • New investments in February amounted to just $1,200.00 as part my weekly Sharebuilder purchases. I did not have any other investments. Including February’s investments, I have invested $2,400.00 so far this year. This amounts to about 6.85% of my goal. This is definitely less than what I would have liked by February. Need to catch up in the next few months.
  • Receive at least $2,500 in dividends
    • I received $100.42 in dividends in February. So far I have received $336.27 in dividends this year. This represents 13.45% of my annual goal.
    • Need to invest additional capital early on in the year to receive additional dividends through the rest of the year and meet this goal.
  • Achieve at least $3,200 in projected annual dividends
    • My projected annual dividends stand at $2,343.43 at the end of February. Again, this hasn’t improved much compared to Dec 2014 due to lack of new investments. Need to catch up on this in the next few months.
  • DO NOT have a portfolio of more than 45 stocks/ETFs
    • Currently hold 39 stocks/ETFs. I initiated one new position in AT&T (T) in February as part of my weekly purchases.

Based on the numbers so far, I have to make considerable progress in the amount invested and projected dividends goal. These two go together and therefore, I have to focus a bit more to invest some capital to catch up.

The goals page will be updated to reflect the progress.

10 thoughts on “Goals update – February 2015

  1. Good stuff, DGJ. Looks like you are well on your way. Are you expecting a big contribution to your investment account?

    R2R

    • Thanks R2R. I have been lagging in new investments the past couple of months. I am going to make the remaining 2014 contributions for the IRA in March/April. I have also picked up the pace a bit in March with purchases like PM and few others in addition to the weekly purchases. Hopefully I am able to make up a bit in March.
      Cheers
      DGJ

  2. Was there anything in particular that held you back from investing more in the first two months of the year like unexpected expenses?

    Nice work building up that passive dividend income.

    Cheers!

    • Not really expenses. I have been thinking about different stocks, but never really got myself to make any big purchases in Jan and Feb. I have got over this already and purchased PM in March and also made some FRIP purchases in addition to my weekly purchases. Also hoping to make another purchase before the end of the month. So hopefully, I am caught up a bit in March.
      Thanks for stopping by,
      DGJ

  3. Hi DGJ,

    Hopefully you can kill two birds with one stone since new capital and projected dividends are linked as you mention. Do you have an average yield that you use in estimating how much new capital you need? With a 3.5% average yield, you’d need a little over 24,000 to meet your projected dividend income target.

    We’ll be here cheering you on regardless!

    Best wishes,
    -DL

    • DL,
      When I came up with the projected dividend goal, I used an average yield of 2.5% for $35,000 in new investments and then rounded it up to $3,200. That was a conservative number and my average yield so far this year has been little over 3.5%. So as long as I meet the $35K investment goal, I should be able to hit the other goal as well. Like you said, two birds with one stone.
      Cheers,
      DGJ

  4. Hey man, I’m sure you’ll catch up to your investment goals quickly, since you’re monitoring them they’ll be in your mind a lot anyway. You’re still doing fantastically well!

    Cheers

Leave a Reply

