Sharebuilder Purchase – 3/31/2015

Here are my sharebuilder automatic investments this week (3/31/2015).

  • KO – 2.4514 shares@40.793 ($100)
  • T – 3.0490 shares@32.7979 ($100)
  • WMT – 1.2074 shares@82.8199 ($100)

I invested a total of $300. I added the same three stocks from last week as all three were priced lower compared to last week. I have a reasonably sized position in KO and T (about $1200 each), but would like to add more based on the price. I have just started adding to my WMT position last week and would like to add more as my position is much smaller in it. I would also like to increase my position in stocks like DIS, V and PEP as I haven’t added to these stocks in a long time. I also wanted to add BBL, but the stock continues to drift be sideways and is currently trading higher than my target price of about $41-$42. Will continue to monitor these stocks in addition to JNJ, PEP, V and DIS for next week’s purchases.

These purchases add $11.33 to my annual dividends. This results in 3.77% yield.

This purchase rounds up 5 weeks of weekly purchases in March. I have invested $1,500 this month through my weekly purchases and also made couple of big purchases in PM and NOV.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above

14 thoughts on “Sharebuilder Purchase – 3/31/2015

  1. Hi DGJ,

    I like the purchases! It looks like you made a lot of purchases this month with the 5 week month and the PM & NOV adds which will definitely take you a few steps further on your journey. Congrats!

    Best wishes,
    -DL

  2. Solid names all around with KO being my favorite pick among the three. 5 weeks of weekly purchases is a nice milestone achieved. There’s no question that consistent investing performs well over the long haul especially when creating a passive dividend income stream. Thanks for sharing.

  3. DGJ,
    I am with you on the KO and WMT purchases this week. These are two long term holding that should do just fine. The other company I have been taking a second look at is MSFT. They have a lot going for them in the next year or two. Windows 10, Azure, Surface 3, and Project Spartan are just a small list of things that are upcoming for Microsoft.

    • MSFT looks interesting as well. But the stock has increased by a huge margin in the last year. I would really be interested in MSFT if the price drops more from the current levels. Also, tech sector with my holdings in AAPL, XLK, HPQ and GOOG has the highest weight in my portfolio. So might hold off on adding more tech unless the price is really attractive.
      DGJ

  4. Are you paying $3.95 for each of those investments? If so, why not add $300 to a different stock each time you add through Sharebuilder to reduce your commissions from $11.85 to $3.95?

      • Thanks. So you paid a total of $6.00 for your trades ($2.00 for each) under your Costco discount for Sharebuilder? I did not know about this discount because I did not see it advertised on the Sharebuilder website.

      • Hi Jim,

        With Costco discount, it is $2.00 for each automatic trade. But I have signed up for the Advantage Plan with sharebuilder and this gives me 12 automatic trades per month for $10/month. So each trade works out to less than a dollar. The drawback with advantage plan is if I don’t use the 12 automatic trades within the month, they are gone. And I would get another 12 trades next month for another $10. So it is $10/month for 12 trades/month whether I use or not.

        The $2.00/automatic trade is applicable if I do not sign up for the advantage plan and just do random automatic trades.
        Hope this clarifies the confusion.

        The Costco pricing is listed at https://www.sharebuilder.com/costco. But they don’t have the Advantage plan listed there. But I think it is available after you sign up. I talked to the customer service and confirmed that before I signed up for the account.

Leave a Reply

