Goals update – March 2015

I like to review the progress at least once a month to determine where I am with respect to meeting/achieving my goals.

These are the goals for 2015:

  • Invest at least $35,000
    • New investments in March amounted to $5,130.45. After a slow start to the year in January and February, I made up some lost ground in March through these purchases.
    • Total investments in 2015 so far equals $7,530.45 which amounts to about 21.51% of my goal. While March helped me catch up, I am still behind on the goal. With 25% of the year gone by, I have only achieved 21.51% of my goal. Hoping to be caught up by April.
  • Receive at least $2,500 in dividends
    • I received $261.00 in dividends in March. So far I have received $597.27 in dividends this year. This represents 23.89% of my annual goal.
    • Additional investments through the rest of the year and dividend increases will help me achieve this goal.
  • Achieve at least $3,200 in projected annual dividends
    • My projected annual dividends stand at $$2,569.29 at the end of March. That’s an increase of over $225 in a single month. This is definitely a nice improvement due to the new investments. Need to keep pace at the new investments to achieve this goal.
  • DO NOT have a portfolio of more than 45 stocks/ETFs
    • Currently hold 40 stocks/ETFs. I initiated one new position in National-Oilwell Varco, Inc (NOV) in March.

The goals page will be updated to reflect the progress.

4 thoughts on “Goals update – March 2015

  1. Thanks for the update, DGJ. Looks like you are well on track. Congrats on achieving 23.89% of your dividends – im sure the dividend raises and new capital will take you over the 100% mark over the next three quarters.

    Best wishes
    R2R

    • Thanks R2R. Yup. With the March surge in dividends, I am closer to the goal. But with BBL’s dividend being bi-annual and DIS’s annual dividend, I am short by a larger margin. But should be able to catch up with new investments and raises.

      Cheers,
      DGJ

  2. Great timing on that PM buy… I’m sure you were pumped today when they rallied 9%, I sure was!

    Seems like you are well on your way to accomplishing your goals, thats awesome.

    Looking forward to seeing you beat your goals now!

    • Thanks ADD. It seems to be a good timing with the PM purchase even though the stock jumped 9% from below my purchase price. My overall PM position is just up slightly due to earlier purchases at higher prices.
      But I am happy nevertheless and looking forward to a reasonable dividend increase.

      Regards,
      DGJ

Leave a Reply

