Dividend summary – May 2015

Looking at dividends received though the month and summarizing the numbers at the end of the month is such a great feeling because dividends represent real tangible income. Let’s take a look at the dividends received in May 2015.

After a record-setting month in March and a equally nice April, I knew May was going to be a slow month. I had barely crossed the $100 mark in February. 

Here are the dividends for May 2015. Total = $126.51

  • Apple (AAPL) – $36.40
  • Citibank (C) – $0.75
  • General Mills (GIS) – $4.40
  • Procter & Gamble (PG) – $13.26
  • Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc (CBRL) – $15.00
  • Clorox (CLX) – $11.10
  • Kinder Morgan Inc (KMI) – $25.92
  • AT&T (T) – $18.16 (first dividend)
  • Google (GOOG) – $1.52 (first and only dividend)

I got my first dividend from AT&T this month. I also got dividend from Google which is a one-time event I think. This is due to the terms of the split that Google did with it stock last year.

Here is how May 2015 ($126.51) compares with previous months.

  • May 2014: $91.72, increased by $34.79, 37.93increase.
  • February 2015: $100.42, increased by $26.09,  25.98% increase.

Here are some charts looking at dividend growth over the years 🙂

The below chart shows May dividends over the years. Looking forward to seeing this chart go higher and higher.

The below chart shows the dividends that I have received until May each year. By May last year, I had received $512.20 and it has grown to $978.43 this year.

The below chart represents the total annual dividends. Looking at the numbers below, I have received little over 61% of my entire 2014 dividends in just 5 months in 2015. That’s really impressive.

Progress for 2015:

With May dividends of $126.51, I have received 39.14% of my 2015 target of $2,500.00. As of now, I am on pace to meet the goal and with increased dividends due to dividend increases and new investments, I will be meeting this goal earlier that the end of the year. I will be reviewing the goals mid-year to see if it needs to be revised.

The dividends page will be updated to reflect the May dividends.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

6 thoughts on “Dividend summary – May 2015

  1. Nice work! I am sure you are very happy with the progress (and the checks of course!)

    Question: Knowing what you know now about building a dividend portfolio what changes would you make to your early moves? Any mistakes along the way?

    • Hi,
      Thanks. One thing I definitely regret is not investing regularly. I started investing sometime in 2009, but didn’t invest much during the early days. In fact during 2011 – 2013, I invested very little. That is one of the reason I started this blog to setup goals and to ensure I keep on track.

      Thanks for stopping by.
      DGJ

  2. Slow month or not… crossing $100 in passive income is always a nice milestone no matter how you look at it. I see a few names in common for our May dividend income. Your percentage growth and charts tell the real story though which is why we are all here… the every increasing passive income stream. Thanks for sharing,

  3. Great report! Even though May is a slow month, your increase over last year is impressive… and there’s always June to look forward to, which, as an end-of-quarter month, should be another record month for you.

    Cheers
    FerdiS

Leave a Reply

