Portfolio update – October 2015

At the end of October 2015, my portfolio stood at $$106,436.79 across all my accounts combined. Comparing to my portfolio balance of $97,787.80 at the end of September 2015, this represents an increase of $8,648.99 for the month of October which represents a 8.84% increase for the month.

New investments accounted for $1,869.37, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of $6,779.62 or 6.93% for the month. After two months of declines, the market and the portfolio increased in October.

After being short of the $100K milestone for a few months, I crossed it this month. Just a couple of years ago, I would not even have imagined having over $100,000 invested in the market. Looking back, it is definitely a great achievement and I am really satisfied about it.

I continued my weekly sharebuilder purchases in October. I also had my quarterly Scottrade FRIP purchase.  I did not have any other purchases in the month.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009.

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

6 thoughts on “Portfolio update – October 2015

  1. Always nice to see your overall portfolio value rise but as we all know those values are largely up to Mr. Market’s whims. Dividend income, a lot more stable and reliable and consistent doesn’t really listen to Mr. Market. Still, congrats on a nice gain in your portfolio.

Leave a comment