Portfolio update – January 2015

That was quick. One month has already gone by in 2015. Time to report the status and progress for the month. Monthly status checks help to stay on course as well as help identify goals that might need closer attention.

At the end of January 2015, my portfolio stood at $83,414.16 across all my accounts combined.
Comparing to my portfolio balance of $83,754.61 at the end of December 2014, this represents a decrease of $340.45 for the month of January which represents a 0.41% decrease for the month.

Of the increase, new investments accounted for $1,200, thereby giving a net portfolio increase of -$1,540.45 or -1.84% for the month.

This is the second month in a row where the net portfolio has gone down. The market has been really choppy in the last few weeks and continues to be volatile. The oil prices continues to be weak and this is putting lot of pressure in oil related stocks. I have been making weekly sharebuilder purchases in January and adding to my positions in AFL, BBL and JNJ primarily. I didn’t make any other purchase. but looking forward to making at least 1 big purchase in Feb.

Here is a graph showing the growth of my portfolio since 2009. As always, it is satisfying to see the graphs going higher each month/year. It reinforces the fact that I am making progress towards my goals.

 

Disclosure: Long on all stocks mentioned above.

4 thoughts on “Portfolio update – January 2015

  1. Thanks for sharing. A minor hiccup, imo. That portfolio will keep getting better as you keep adding more income producing entities to it.

    Best wishes
    R2R

  2. Many stocks had drops in January so your decrease only is a reflection of that. It will surely come back to normal in the next months! Besides, your adding will start showing results sooner than later. Keep it up!

  3. DGJ,

    Great job over there!

    My portfolio dropped as well, which is a function of the broader market’s pullback and having a larger portfolio. As your portfolio grows, capital additions will have less of an impact in comparison to the market’s moves. That’s a good thing. 🙂

    Keep up the great work.

    Cheers.

    • Thanks DM. That is true. As the portfolio gets bigger, capital additions will have lesser impact on the overall value. I was able to witness that the last few days. When the market had huge swings, my portfolio changed by over $1000 a day (up or down) which is close to my overall new capital in the entire month. But like you mentioned it is a good thing.

      Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a comment